Spring Has Sprung

It’s been an interesting time, living in Portland. These nearly four weeks have been full of wonder. I’ve decided to make a little list of things that have seemed important or interesting or happy.

In the last week or so I’ve noticed that there are birds singing when I wake up in the morning and my drive home is getting lighter and lighter. I love the feeling of spring – pulling out your springtime clothes, watching the birds return and the flowers bloom. Zach and I bought a lawn mower last weekend and he mowed the lawn and blew leaves while I played with the plants. We found a pussy-willow tree in our backyard and I think we have lilacs too!

I’ve attended my second knitting class and we’ve started a small knitting group at work too. Yesterday I finished the back of my first sweater and I’ve cast on the front. It’s so exciting to see something take shape before your eyes and I can’t wait to finish and wear it.

Wednesday during knitting class we took several trips outside to watch the lunar eclipse… did you see it? I felt like a little kid in awe of both the grandiosity and smallness of the universe. Amazing.

This is my first job really in the heart of a downtown area – I love having so many lunch options; I’ve found a coffee shop that has rice milk and makes a mean latte with it; I’ve wandered and found the bank, the post office, Rite Aid, Whole Foods, and so much shopping! I also found human poop on the steps of the parking garage this week and was flicked with cigarette ashes by someone wearing a cape today (I’m not talking Superman… I’m talking full Obi-Wan Kenobi… hood up and everything). I guess you take the good with the bad.

Tonight Kristen and I are going to see a movie and tomorrow we’re getting our hair cut and having lunch and walking around NW 23rd. It’s so nice to be back in the same city together. Tomorrow night Gibson and I are going to mom and dad’s for dinner and to spend the night. Sunday morning mom and I are having pedicures with Cherie and Adrienne before I pick up Zach from the airport.

Zach has been traveling a lot and while I miss him (it’s so much fun having him around all the time), I feel proud of how busy I’ve kept myself this week. Gibson and I even went to the park yesterday and met some new dog friends. It feels good to learn new things and be independent.

2 Comments

Filed under entries about nothing, knitting

2 responses to “Spring Has Sprung

  1. kb

    You are too cute Sarah Jones! Loved this post!

  2. Jen Shawver

    This post really made me miss you. Please come back! By the way you got a shout out in today’s staff meeting…

Leave a Reply

