More Food Issues… Surprise!

I’ve been tasked with bringing a dessert to my grandmother’s Easter lunch on Sunday. I’m pretty sure when I offered to bring something and she suggested dessert she didn’t realize how many food restrictions I have. Finding a recipe for a wheat-free, dairy-free, egg-free dessert is going to be tricky (although, I’ve been researching egg replacements and am very excited about some of the prospects). In my search, I asked Jen for ideas and she suggested fruit salad. I hate when I ask people for help and then I come up with a million excuses for why their idea(s) won’t work for me. In this case I had one very good reason – I believe fruit salad, technically, contains something like yogurt, which I can’t have because it doesn’t meet the dairy-free criteria – and one not-so-good reason – I don’t like fruit salad.

Why, you may be asking yourself, would someone who proclaims to like fruit not like a whole salad made up of nothing but fruit. The answer, I will explain, is simple. I do not like when my fruit touches each other. There is, invariably, at least one fruit whose flavor overpowers the other fruits and then you are left with a bowl of colorful items all of which taste vaguely like orange, but not quite. It’s just not right.

For details on my other food criteria, see my earlier post: I’m Neurotic.

Leave a comment

Filed under the belly rules the mind

Leave a Reply

